COPYRIGHT © 2019 GLASS TEMPLE

EXHIBITION

10 August - 8 September 2019​

Écurie des Chèvres

Rue du Moulin

1968 Mase

Opening hours

fri, sat, sun - 5-7 pm

Opening party​

10 August 2019 - 5-8 pm

 

èrèïn

Formed for millennia by the removal of a glacier, the Val d'Hérens is a valley located in the canton of Valais in Switzerland extending from the south of Sion to the glaciers of Ferpècle and Arolla. This region includes an important fauna, flora, geology and mineralogy forming a natural, valuable and fragile environment. Coming from a peasant family from Corcelles-près-Concise in the Jura-Nord vaudois district, Pauline Humbert developed from an early age a sensitivity to nature and its multiple stakes. Very early, the artist discovers the Val d'Hérens and enjoys its unique landscapes that will contribute to developing a great artistic sensitivity towards nature. As a result, the photographer cultivates through her experiences a close link with her natural environment from which she captures its poetic essence.

 

On the basis of a word in local dialect designating Hérens, “èrèïn” is an exhibition depicting the lyrical nature of a region of Switzerland. It is through a contemplative, pure and poetic image that Pauline Humbert connects herself and connects us with this particular environment. Taking a different path from postcard photography, the artist focuses on the most essential elements of the landscape. Water, wood, leaves, textures, angles, lights, so many factors constituting the perceptible world that the photographer transcribes through a personal look. The image is sometimes reduced to its most primitive forms tending towards abstraction. “èrèïn” offers the viewer an alternative reading of the beauty of a valley, perhaps a little too often limited to its grandiose character. These images result from an important work of nature observation and travel and they are always imbued with poetry and sensitivity. This approach echoes works by artists such as Rinko Kawauchi or Hiroshi Sugimoto. Observing nature is to look at the silence and to feel good in the present moment. The images invite the viewer to contemplate a beauty that is both simple and complex. In this way, a meditative dimension emerges. Finally, “èrèïn” starts from a local point of view to grow and evolve on a global dimension. Although all produced in the Val d'Hérens, these images are animated by a powerful universality allowing them to exist beyond their area of production. A universality manifested in the minimal and contemplative form of the image, but also in its poetic and ecological meaning.

1/6
 

PAULINE HUMBERT

Pauline Humbert is a young Swiss photographer born in 1996 in Saint-Aubin and currently living in Lausanne. In 2018 she graduated from the Centre d'enseignement professionnel de Vevey (CEPV) in Photography. Pauline Humbert is currently studying an advanced course in Visual Communication specialised in Photography.

Website

Instagram

COPYRIGHT © 2019 GLASS TEMPLE

EXPOSITION

10 août - 8 septembre 2019​

Écurie des Chèvres

Rue du Moulin

1968 Mase

Horaires

ve, sa, di - 17:00-19:00

Vernissage​

10 août 2019 - 17:00-20:00

 

èrèïn

Façonné durant des millénaires par le retrait d’un glacier, le val d’Hérens est une vallée située dans le canton du Valais en Suisse s’étendant du sud de Sion jusqu’aux glaciers de Ferpècle et d’Arolla. Cette région englobe une faune, une flore, une géologie ainsi qu’une minéralogie importantes constituant un environnement naturel, précieux et fragile. Issue d’une famille paysanne de Corcelles-près-Concise dans le Jura-Nord vaudois, Pauline Humbert fut sensibilisée dès son plus jeune âge à la nature et à ses enjeux multiples. Très tôt, l’artiste découvre le val d’Hérens et s’imprègne de ses paysages singuliers qui participeront à développer une grande sensibilité artistique vis-à-vis de la nature au sens large. En conséquence, la photographe cultive au fil de ses expériences un lien étroit avec son environnement naturel dont elle y capture l’essence poétique.


Sur la base d’un mot en patois local désignant Hérens, “èrèïn” est une exposition dépeignant la nature lyrique d’une région de la Suisse. C’est par une image contemplative, pure et poétique que Pauline Humbert se connecte et nous connecte avec cet environnement particulier. Empruntant un chemin différent de la photographie dite de carte postale, l’artiste se focalise davantage sur les éléments les plus essentiels composant le paysage. Eau, bois, feuilles, textures, angles, lumières, autant de chaînons constituant le monde perceptible que la photographe retranscrit à travers un regard personnel. L’image en est parfois réduite à ses formes les plus primitives tendant presque vers l’abstraction. “èrèïn” offre au spectateur.rice une lecture alternative à la beauté d’une vallée, peut-être un peu trop souvent limitée à son caractère grandiose. Fruit d’un grand travail d’observation et de déplacement dans la nature, le résultat qui en découle est toujours imprégné de poésie et de sensibilité, une démarche pouvant notamment rappeler le travail de Rinko Kawauchi ou Hiroshi Sugimoto. Observer la nature, c’est regarder le silence, se sentir bien dans le moment présent. Les images invitent le spectateur.rice à la contemplation d’une beauté à la fois simple et complexe. De la sorte, une dimension méditative s’en dégage. Enfin, “èrèïn” se développe d’un point de vue local pour ainsi croître et évoluer sur une dimension globale. Bien que toutes produites dans le val d’Hérens, ces images sont animées d’une puissante universalité leur permettant d’exister au-delà de leur lieu de production. Une universalité se manifestant dans la forme minimale et contemplative de l’image, mais aussi dans sa signification poétique et écologique.

1/6
 

PAULINE HUMBERT

Pauline Humbert est une jeune photographe suisse née en 1996 à Saint-Aubin et vivant actuellement à Lausanne. En 2018, elle est diplômée du Centre d'enseignement professionnel de Vevey (CEPV) en photographie. Pauline Humbert étudie actuellement une formation supérieure en communication visuelle spécialisée en photographie.

Site Web

Instagram